Day One of AIP: Let the adventure begin

On my last post, Looking For A Better Way, I mentioned that I was going to start the Autoimmune Protocol Diet. I was so happy to hear such amazing feed back from so many of you that I am even more excited about the potential this diet has in healing my body naturally. So I would like to thank you for helping push any doubt I had out of my mind.

After writing my last post I took my time planning out what we would eat. I didn’t want to just start the diet without being 100% prepared as I know this would be the perfect recipe for failure. I set out to clean my pantry and fridge of any none approved items and restock them with essentials: meat, fish, vegetables, fruits, coconut flour, arrowroot starch, coconut oil and avocado oil. To see what foods to avoid and which to keep on hand click here for an easy to print outline from Mickey Trescott.

Once I had an idea of what I would grab for snacks and what I would probably eat for breakfast I knew I was ready to get started. So today was day one.

I woke up pretty sore this morning. My hands and feet still being the worst spots but the muscles in my back we also very tender. I was thankful that the hubby let me sleep in this morning so at least I didn’t feel as exhausted as I could have.

My plan for tackling AIP is to eat simply. Nothing to fancy just simple, nourishing foods that make me feel full and satisfied. I will probably make a few more extravagant meals on weekends or for special occasions but simple and fast will be the best way for me to stick with it.

So here is what I ate today:

A juicy plum and a cup of green tea for breakfast.
A juicy plum and a cup of green tea for breakfast.
Salmon baked with thyme, lemon, and a bit of avocado oil. A side of roasted butternut squash tossed in avocado oil, salt, and turmeric. Plus a side of blueberries.
Salmon baked with thyme, lemon, and a bit of avocado oil. A side of roasted butternut squash tossed in avocado oil, salt, and turmeric. Plus a side of blueberries.
Supper was Meatloaf. I made this with ground beef, ground pork, grated sweet potato, grated zucchini, salt, thyme, and sage. A side of steamed green and yellow beans and leftover butternut squash from lunch.
Supper was Meatloaf. I made this with ground beef, ground pork, grated sweet potato, grated zucchini, salt, thyme, and sage. A side of steamed green and yellow beans and leftover butternut squash from lunch.

These meals were satisfying and they were all pretty quick to prepare. I made enough salmon, meatloaf, squash and green/yellow beans to have leftovers tomorrow. I have a whole chicken in the fridge thawing, waiting to be roasted and then turned into broth for some yummy soup.

Obviously today’s pain was the same as the last few months, no better no worse, as it is much to early to feel any difference but I want to end each of these posts with a record of how I felt so I can keep track of the progress I see. I’ll use a scale to gauge this.

  • Pain: 7 – hands, feet, back
  • Exhaustion: 5
  • Heartburn: 5 – this is actually better today than usual so if nothing else that’s a good sign.

The hubby followed along for most of the day and I think this diet will be harder for him to adjust to then I. He’s wishing he could have chips and ice cream today and meals with no rice or bread were a challenge for him.  I hope that he can push past those cravings and continue with me not only for moral support and to make it easier for me to stick with this but for his own health as well.  He went through a small depression recently and during this time he gained a substantial amount of weight. Having been overweight myself and still needing to lose weight I know first hand that this can affect your moods and actually make you feel more depressed.

Hopefully we all benefit from this diet. I look forward to see where this road in my journey with Lupus takes us.

The road less traveled is almost always the most interesting.

Sabrina

2 thoughts on “Day One of AIP: Let the adventure begin

  1. Hi Sabrina! I just wanted to say I loved your post and I wanted to wish you luck on starting your AIP journey. I actually just wrote a blog post about my experience this morning! It can be challenging but it is worth it. I have not yet successfully completed AIP but I will be starting a new attempt soon!

    I took a similar approach to you with my cooking and I got the Autoimmune Protocol Cookbook by Mickey Trescott. The recipes are all very simple and do not take long to prepare. She also breaks it down into a 4 week meal plan which if your just starting and feel overwhelmed can really help!

    Anyways I just wanted to wish you luck and I look forward to reading about your journey.

    -Emily

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

